Annie

“Classics” get co-opted

In fashion on April 7, 2008 at 8:46 pm

You have got to be kidding me [Via]. YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME! The Grey Lady picked this up OVER A YEAR AGO. When when when are you little ectoplasms going to fucking give it up and leave it for people who actually have an affinity with Arab Nationalism? You want to know why I started wearing a Kheffiyeh? Because I was a ten-year-old in Egypt and my dad [not to mention copious other father figures] wore one and I wanted to be as cool as my dad. Do you Actually Want to Free Palestine? That’s cool! Just don’t let a really great fashion symbol get co-opted by a bunch of assholes who don’t know what it means.

Who am I kidding? I might as well throw mine in a Goodwill bag full of Che shirts.

[Do you wear a Kheffiyeh sincerely? Perhaps you ought to check this out.

FULL DISCLOSURE: This is me wearing a kheffiyeh not three days ago. I am also wearing a vintage leather jacket, an American Apparel t-shirt, black skinny jeans and Vans, and I am drinking a 40. I know, I know, I’m a fucking asshole. At least I admit it when I haven’t read the book. [sometimes.] -Ed.

  1. You’re one mad person in this universe. But, i don’t blame you.

    http://3critical.wordpress.com

  2. Wearing a Kheffiyeh or Che shirt should be added to the list of stuffwhitepeoplelike.

Leave a Reply

