Annie

GoodReads Review: Portnoy’s Complaint

In Uncategorized on June 29, 2008 at 11:09 pm

Portnoy's Complaint Portnoy’s Complaint by Philip Roth


My review

rating: 3 of 5 stars
I read this out of conviction for not having read enough of the Jewish Lit canon. Behrman reassured me that it was witty but misogynist. He was not wrong. Basically? Kid with ‘typical’ overbearing Jewish mother fucks shikses, doesn’t care about them, finally gets to fuck a real Israeli Jew and can’t keep it up. Oh, and he masturbates a lot too. I mean, he’s a great writer, and I can’t say I didn’t enjoy it and picture this epic neurotic speaking in monologue in my head, but maybe I should have gone for American Pastoral instead.

Well, at least Alex Portnoy likes eating girls out.

View all my reviews.

Leave a Reply

